Visual Rewards: Finding Fulfillment in Web Design, Part 1

Having an internship is nothing like what I expected and I am so appreciative that I have one. I am a student intern for SUNY System Administration and have been working here since February 2012 and am continuing until May 2014 when I graduate. Working here has completely opened my eyes as to what kind of career I plan to get into. The learning experience I am getting here is nothing like what I learn in a classroom; it also helps that my fellow employees are more then willing to teach me and help me grow.

I do a lot of web programming here; I mostly do everything in ColdFusion. I hadn’t had much experience before this internship and I actually very much enjoy the work I am doing. I found programming to be like a puzzle. You have to figure out the way to put the program together to make it operate the right way. Doing this can challenge you which keeps me on my toes.  I also work with databases from time to time. When I am working on applications just for SUNY users that is when I work with PLSQL. My main priority at the time is SharePoint. My team and I have been working on creating it for a couple months now and plan to have all SUNY System Administration employees use it and hopefully have it expand to SUNY campuses in the future. It is rewarding to go on the SharePoint Website and see that you helped create this. One other main thing I do daily is keep an eye on the Web Request folder. This is a folder where all SUNY System Administration employees send their request for changing something on the main SUNY page or are asking for permission to use a certain application. I have to do those changes or create access for them to the application.

I can say that I like coming to work everyday. I get along with the person I work with very well which makes it that much easier and enjoy the work I am doing. I hope that this turns into a full time job for me once I graduate, but if it doesn’t I am extremely glad I worked there and got the experience I did from them.

Shown below is the SUNY SharePoint website I helped create.

SUNY BLUE

–Alaina Montello

2 thoughts on “Visual Rewards: Finding Fulfillment in Web Design, Part 1

Leave a Reply

