My Internship With NYSED

My paid internship with the New York State Education Department was extremely beneficial to me.  I was given the opportunity to experience a real work environment, work with a team of great people who are now close friends, and grow professionally for my future.  If you are not looking for an internship, start now!

My job at NYSED was to implement curriculum online using the learning management system, Moodle.  Moodle is like Blackboard, but has some interesting additions that make it particularly great for an online classroom environment.  It comes complete with forums, quizzes, and plenty of ways to show content to students.  I was converting physical workbook curriculum to Moodle throughout my entire time with NYSED, but I experienced many other things as well.

One of my other jobs was working with Microsoft Access Databases.  My first assignment was to program a form that would interact with a database using VBA.  This was a daunting task for me because I had not used VBA before, but I quickly learned it and now have another programming language I can put down on my resume.

In addition to these two main tasks, I participated in meetings, became involved with many other assignments, and eventually assumed a leadership position.  I feel like an extremely valuable member of the team, and I had the pleasure of working with a kind, helpful, and understanding boss too.

All of my accomplishments at NYSED have given me a real advantage in the job market.  I have one full year of experience in a field that is strongly related to my major.  It has been an amazing and humbling experience and I will truly miss it.  I hope that other students take the time to get an internship and I hope it helps them as much as it has helped me.

Robert Blundell

Computer Science Major

May 2013 Graduate

Leave a Reply

