My involvement in Global Game Jam 2013

I volunteered all three days for Global Game Jam, and really enjoyed seeing people from all over, not just S.U.N.Y.  get together in groups and come up with AMAZING game ideas and get to implement them together through an international venue. I did not participate myself, because I wasn’t sure whether I could do it or not. Over the course of the weekend, I found that many different skill levels were there, many different programs being used to create computer games, and that I would have enjoyed being a part of this myself. I was amazed that it was only in the 5th year and was already in 319 locations worldwide!!! You can also make board games or any game for that matter, it does not have to be a computer game, although, UAlbany chose to be tech savy and all were computer games. So, grandma here could have made a game for the grandkids…oh well, there is always next year! Visit their site at http://globalgamejam.org/. On this site you can find the games that were made and (I believe that you can download them for free and try them out). I was able to play the games that were created, and was amazed at what some came up with! Fun! Fun! Fun!

 

***********

 

Dianna Higginbotham received her AAS in Human Services at Hudson Valley Community College in Spring 2004.  She is now a Senior at S.U.N.Y. Albany, majoring in Information Science and minoring in Theatre Arts in May, 2013.  She is a member of CCIWIT, CCI, ACM and is a workshop assistant for the Social Robotics workshops that are a part of the College of Computing & Information initiated by Dr. Jennifer Goodall.

Leave a Reply

