EOP Computer Lab Intern

This would be my second semester working at the EOP Computer Lab (on campus) as a Computer Lab Technician Intern. Unfortunately, this would be my last semester working at the department since I will be graduating this May. I started working at the department at the fall of 2011 and I can’t believe how much I have learned this short period of time.  When I first started working at the lab I was very anxious because it was my first internship and I did not have any prior experience.  The good thing was, I was probably not the only one with that feeling.  There were 4 other people interns working at the lab, however,  overtime the number dropped and it became just three interns. Dennis (supervisor) worked with us every week.  He showed much patience and kindness when he showed us what we needed to do.  He taught us how to perform weekly viral scans on the computers, create back up disks for the excel spreadsheets, maintain the user room printer and many more.  I am glad I applied for this internship because it made me a more confident person. I was able to network and meet a lot of wonderful people and it saddens me that I will be leaving after such a short while.  Even though I wish I had started earlier, this experience has helped me realize the kind of person I am and has helped me figure out my next path.  

Jennifer Achampong, Information Science (Undergraduate)
Leave a Reply

