What would we do without social networks?

Think back about 10 years ago and think of how much people communicated with other people around them.  You actually went for coffee or grabbed a bite to eat just to chat.  Nowadays for some, all of the chatting happens via the Internet.  Communication has declined dramatically with the use of social networks.  How often do people actually have conversations with their peers and friends nowadays? It rarely happens, thanks to the creation of Facebook and other major social networks.  Text messaging also plays a major role.  I can’t remember the last time that I had a long conversation with someone on the phone.  When I need to tell a friend or family member something, 99.9% of the time, I just send them a quick text message.

The boost of social networks has especially increased with having smart phones.  I know I check my Facebook about a million times a day on my iPhone or iPad.  It is the easiest way to check the news.  In fact, I rarely watch the news anymore.  I find out the latest happenings by seeing it on my news feed.  I find it much easier to follow news stations on Twitter and just check it there.  Lately, social media sites are definitely becoming the fastest source for news.

So, what would we do without social networks?  For me, it has been even worse now that I have access to these social networks on my cell phone.  I make it a habit to check my phone constantly.  Not only am I addicted to my iPhone, but I am also addicted to social networks, particularly Facebook.  I really don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t check my Facebook everyday.  It is a good way to find out how friends are that you don’t see anymore.  Although I wish we all communicated more in person today, it is still a good way to keep in touch with people.  Who knows where social media networks will bring us in the future.  It will be interesting to see how far social networks go.


Brittany Ferraro
Senior, Information Science 

2 thoughts on “What would we do without social networks?

  1. I completely agree with this post, as social networks are now also my source of news. However, my main source of news is Twitter instead of my Facebook News Feed. I pretty much think that anything happening somewhere in the world, is also being tweeted about. As far as what we would do without social networks though, I can’t even fathom it. As a matter of fact, I can’t even imagine how college campuses were able to fully operate without Facebook or Twitter involved. Social networks help the news move so much faster. My only idea of how a college campus, or our college campus worked without social networks is that everybody paid a lot more attention to all those posters around the podium, and the red phones in our dorm rooms probably got used much more. Other than that, I have no idea how they were able to do it.

  2. I think this brings up a great question, if you started actually calling people to talk would they answer? I find myself never answering a phone call and then sending the person a message via text, e-mail or Facebook and see what’s up. I would bet that most people are leaning toward this way of communicating. A person will only call so many times until they switch ways of getting a hold of someone. I think this trend can be seen in how "phone" companies are packaging their services. Most plans are doing away with unlimited data because of the skyrocketing use. It will be interesting to see what communication will look like in ten more years. Will people even "talk" anymore?

Leave a Reply

