Technologically Behind: A Technophobe’s Opinions

Over the past few months I’ve found myself in a love-hate relationship with Facebook.  I’m tired of the illusion of privacy my personal information is hidden behind.  Even if I delete every path from myself to some type of information the information itself still exists.  I’ve thought about deleting my Facebook account but that would be like getting rid of my cell phone.  I’m not very “good at” Facebook, I don’t usually talk to my friends but it’s nice to have the option.  Facebook is still my rolodex.  The same applies to my phone, I’d say that about 70% of everything I do with my phone somehow involves talking to only my girlfriend, most of the remaining 30% is me just using the calendar to set reminders.  I used to have about a hundred numbers in my phone and now I probably have less than twenty and half of those are for pizza or something.

Recently I got an upgrade for my phone. I could have gotten a smart phone and paid extra for the data plan but I’d much rather buy an “un-smart” phone and save some money.  Internet on a phone is probably great to have but I’m an information science major, I’m almost always sitting at a computer anyway so what’s the point.  I’m sure smart phones will be all that are available soon so then I guess I’ll have to give in and buy a Droid. I’m not a big fan of Apple.

I’ve always disliked Apple products.  I don’t own a single thing (that I know of) made by Apple.  I even purchased a Zune because I didn’t want an mp3 player made by Apple.  My girlfriend doesn’t share my baseless dislike for Apple products and owns an iPod as well as an iHome.  This past daylights savings I learned that there is an incredibly ingenious switch on the bottom of the iHome that allows you to “spring forward” or “fall back” an hour with…well… a flick of a switch.  I’ve always disliked Apple products…but I really liked that switch.


Kevin N. Supple
Information Science

4 thoughts on “Technologically Behind: A Technophobe’s Opinions

  1. I am totally with you on the whole deleting Facebook thing. I don’t plan on deleting it anytime soon because it is very addicting and it’s a good way to keep in touch with people. I’m sure in the future when I am over the whole social network era, I will delete it. Don’t get me wrong, I love Facebook and don’t know what I would do without it, but one day I will have to delete it. I also worry about the whole privacy thing. I know that the information is always going to be on the site and once I publish it, Facebook owns it. It pretty much freaks me out that the information will always be there. Even though I control what I put on my own Facebook page, I don’t like the fact that it will always be there even if I delete my page.

  2. I can definitely agree with you concerning the difficulties behind deleting your Facebook, but I was more interested in your dislike for Apple products. I was once in the same position, but I changed my mind after my Xbox 360 broke, my HP computer broke, and my windows phone stopped working in the same week. I realized that having an apple iPod, along with the social implications that have been associated with them, the iPod has some of the best warranty plans, and the most compatible mp3 players available. The apple computers, while they are very expensive, also have some of the best warranty plans, and are the least susceptible to viruses. The fact that Microsoft was able to release the Xbox 360 with a known defect really made me lose faith. This influenced my decision to start using apple products like iPods and to build my own PC???s (I can???t afford the mac desktop that I want). Mark my words one day all of our schools will be filled with apple computers and PC’s will become the new type writer, unless Microsoft does something drastic to their products to take apple out of the market.

  3. SO many things, SO little time. First, your assessment on information always being out in the ether of the interwebs, long after you delete them is so very true and horrifying all at the same time. with internet sites devoted to caching other websites, to websites backing up their servers, to the Facebook who goes a step beyond the server backups (normally done to protect the user) by also saying they have a legal right to everything you post and may use it at their discretion. "WHOA" and yea that is a Keanu Reeves quote I jacked from Jay’s post (fair game! right?). Like gun control, the only real safety anyone really has is the user. So beware, what you post may haunt you a few years down the road! On a second note, Apple really is not that evil Sure, I may be writing this on my MBP, but I don’t really consider myself an Apple fanboy. Still, there has to be concessions made when regarding Apple products, especially by biased technologists. Sure Apple may not be the best at everything (that would be a tall order to fill). But they do fill a niche market (albeit a high cost market); that market is of high quality products for trendy people who like having products that last, look good, and are easy to use. Now this is in no way saying Apple is the end all of product designers, however, had Steve Jobs never designed the iPod, do you think you would have that pretty Zune to listen to you digital media collection (another Steve Jobs idea!). Maybe, but who really knows. It’s tough to say something about Apple and not bring up the genius Steve Jobs; and yes Bill Gates is also a pioneering genius, but in other ways. Bill was more functionally creative, Operating systems, productivity suites of applications (word, powerpoint, visio, etc..). I guess the easiest way for me to describe is is that Bill wanted to make WORK easier while Steve wanted to make LIFE easier. But who knows, perhaps I am just an equally biased (yet 180 degrees out of phase) individual. in the famous words of street fighter: "FIGHT!"

  4. I still think it’s kind of funny for an Information Science major to be a "technophobe," but that’s neither here nor there. I have a lot of the same problems with Facebook, myself, but I don’t delete it strictly because I still have friends that I occasionally talk to on the website. If they made the jump to Google+ or Twitter, it would be different, but all of them are content on Facebook and even adverse to switching to a different website. In a bizarre sort of way, I feel almost trapped on the website.The Apple thing doesn’t really surprise me. Apple is usually good at finding the things that we don’t necessarily need, but will make our lives easier regardless, which is a large part of why I think they’re so popular. It’s so funny how often I find myself dragging the mouse on a Windows machine to the top corner of the screen and getting frustrated when nothing happens. It’s also funny how I’ve gone from missing the page up/page down keys on my keyboard to never using them even on keyboards where they are still present. The little clever hooks seemed to help me overcome the learning curve when I caved and bought an Apple product.

Leave a Reply

