Summer Internship at Expo International 2011

The opportunity to work for a company in New York City was one of the best experiences I’ve had throughout my college career. As a Junior going to be a Senior in the Fall of 2011, it was an amazing experience to work with a marketing company which I learned to professionally work with and love. Expo International is a small firm which produces job fairs for candidates that posses security clearance in the Defense area, as well as producing luxury shows to the wealthiest clienteles. At Expo International, I had the opportunity to work with both the marketing and IT departments which was such an amazing experience because I finally got an idea of what I want to do when I finish school. On a normal 9-5 work day, I would spend half the day with the marketing department reaching out to find new leads that would like to participate in our shows, inviting guests to our shows, and making calls to very successful companies such as IBM and Northrop Grumann negotiating deals pertaining to our shows. After an hour lunch, I spent the rest of my day with the IT employee Phil Probert which happens to have graduated from SUNY Albany in 2010. Our projects would be based with using Dreamweaver and creating banners, e-mail fliers to our perspective clienteles and job seekers, and updating the company website on a day-to-day basis. Because this company is so small (about 12 employees), every contribution that I made at Expo International made a big difference. Whether I found new leads or invited the wealthiest clients to our Rolls Royce luxury show in the Hampton’s, this company benefited so much from my work and I have benefited from this wonderful experience. Two of the most memorable experiences I had with this company was designing the invitations for our Rolls Royce event, as well as working the event. During this exclusive Rolls Royce brunch and cocktail party, many celebrities such as the Entourage star Jeremy Piven, the housewife of NYC Jill Zarin, hip-hop artist Jared Evan, and NBA star Carmelo Anthony attended. The networking at this event was remarkable, as I spoke to many wealthy clients who inspired me to pursue my dreams. On the last day of work, August 11th, the CEO of the company, Bradford Rand, invited me back after I graduate in May to become part of the team; I accepted the offer and will be working with Expo International after school. This remarkable experience has become a dream, and I learned so much using Dreamweaver, the assets of marketing, and I also learned to love New York City where I will be working in the near future.

Company Website: http://theluxuryreview.com/

Rolls Royce event pictures: http://wireimage.com/SearchResults.aspx?igi=512477&s=rand&sfld=C&vwmd=e


Daniel Sebagh, will be a Senior in the Fall of 2011, graduating in May
2012. Worked from June 1st-August 11th at Expo International.

 

Leave a Reply

